Calling All Sales Associates! (4C)

Customers do this, customers do that… has become a common phrase in my blog.

In ‘How To Make Shopping Faster & Easier’, I talk about how browsing through clothes can be done more efficiently. In ‘The Finer Things In Life’, I remind people about their reading skills. And lastly, in ‘Our Job’, I give insight to what sales associates go through on a regular basis. The mentality mostly revolves around the idea that customers are not always right.

S*@! Bad Retailers Say by http://manngroup.net

With this in mind, I think it is the perfect time to turn the tables. Yea you read that right… My fellow sales associates, I’m calling you out!

After I first started working in retail, shopping was transformed into a completely different experience.

I become more aware of my surroundings.

So aware, that I found myself:

  • Folding clothes
  • Adjusting the hangers I pulled off the rack
  • Making conversation with other sales associates

… in other stores!

99.9% of the time, I come across other sales associate that treat me just how I’d like to be treated as a customer. Along with the respect I receive, I let them do their thing – greeting, informing me about sales, asking me if I need help, etc.

But then there’s the 0.01%. These are the sales associates that make me shake my head. These are the sales associates that give the rest of us a bad name. These are the annoying, the pushy, the in your face, and the rude people that ruin it for the rest of us pleasant sales associates. It’s like they’ve learned nothing about being a sales associates and forgot what it was like to be a customer.

This video is hilarious. This is exactly how sales associates are NOT supposed to act. It’s funny now, but in reality, I don’t think anyone would be laughing. The things done in the video are rude, weird and will only make the customer feel uncomfortable. And of course, why would a customer want to be anywhere where they don’t feel comfortable? Give your customer:

  • A little bit of breathing room to browse
  • Be around for when they need help
  • Don’t force sales down the customers’ throats
  • Don’t be rude

My favourites:

Sales associates pops out of nowhere and whispers in deep voice, “Can I help you sir?”

Sales associate says to two ladies entering the store, “Afternoon chickas, the pink bikes are thatta way!”

I may have started off the blog by dissing the customers, but you know what? Sales associates are not always angels. Shopping is a world made up entirely of interaction with other people and providing good customer service. No one is right if attitude are involved. Being rude will only evoke the other person to be rude as well! As a sales associate, I do get frustrated a lot of the time but retail has taught me to keep calm and handle my negativity. That being said, I think the only way both parties will survive one another without ripping eachother’s heads off is to follow one rule:

Treat others the way you want to be treated.

Sales associates! Have you ever encountered a another sales associate that made you mad?

Customers! Nows your time to vent about bad customer service Let’s hear it!

Happy Shopping!

4c
Leave a Reply

